Lovely, lovely bubbles!

You may already know that South Africa is producing many high-quality wines, but did you now that we make bubbles that rival those of the French? The South African “Methode Cap Classique” is produced in the same way as its (supposedly) posher European relative (by creating a second fermentation – and thus bubbles – in the bottle). It tastes as good and costs a fraction of what you have to cough up for a French Champagne! I once met a French wine connoisseur that distributes South African wines in France, and he let me in on a little secret: a sommelier friend of his that works for one of the big Champagne houses (let’s leave the name unsaid, and just say that it is one that non-French speaking people – myself included – always wonder whether you should pronounce the “t” at the end or not) once did a blind tasting and found that Pongracz Cap Classique equalled one of their own reserves (selling at 4 times the cost of Pongracz). Needless to say, my wine connoisseur friend also told me that Pongracz was his biggest seller so it seems even the Frenchies are catching on to this little secret! There are many other Cap Classiques available, most of which are of an equally high quality.

What I love about bubbles, apart from the lovely feeling of happiness that it gives you, is that they work in almost any situation. As Madame Bollinger said (although she was actually referring to the posh French version, I have taken the artistic liberty of changing into “bubbles”):

I drink bubbles when I am happy, and when I’m sad. Sometimes I drink it when I’m alone. When I have company I consider it obligatory. I trifle with it if I’m not hungry, and drink it when I am. Otherwise I never touch it… unless I’m thirsty.”

Bubbles are perfect at sunset!

At a wedding, it’s compulsory!

With a pre-dinner snack by the pool

Or just as is!

Leave a Reply

